The softest yarn for baby blankets

Today on Ravelry someone confessed that they were sick and tired of scratchy acrylic and yarns that were too wooly and she really just wanted to find the softest yarn possible for baby blankets. I thought you might like to see the answer I shared with them.

Personally, I just finished knitting a baby blanket out of Lion Brand Cotton-Ease and it turned out great! However, I do have a few favorites for extraordinarily soft yarn that’s great for baby blankets and the like. Let me pull some choices from my stash.

A New Day Blanket

Knit Picks has great yarns for great prices. My number one choice for softness, however, has to be the Knit Picks Stroll and Stroll Sport – soft doesn’t even begin to cover it.

Blue Sky Alpacas Dyed Cotton – while I love most of the Blue Sky line of yarns, for ultra-softness that’s super baby friendly, I go to the Dyed Cotton yarn every time. Between it and Misti Alpacas Pima Cotton & Silk I’m always set.

If you don’t mind venturing into indie yarns, may I recommend handgefaerbt.com Extra Fine Merino or Merino Medium? This yarn, hand-dyed by a woman in Germany, is so darn soft that among it’s English-speaking fans it’s fondly known by the colloquial name of “Handfarts.”

The SOFTEST yarn I have ever had the pleasure of stroking is Elsebeth Lavold Cool Wool, a blend of cotton and wool that is so sumptuous I drool every time I touch it. It gets full marks from me!

Speaking of supersoft merinos, Fibranatura Baby Merino might make you think that you’ve died and gone to heaven as well. I cannot get over how soft and lovely and wonderful this yarn is. I just want to love it to pieces.

Of course, there’s no reason to spend oodles of money for softness. I’ve found lovely, soft yarns right in the aisles of the big box stores. Try Bernat Bamboo Natural Blends – a blend of bamboo rayon, acrylic and polyester makes this a great, soft, silky yarn for a multitude of purposes – including, yes, a baby blanket!

And I’ve always been a fan of Lion Brand Vanna’s Choice – it’s the one all-acrylic yarn that I unequivocally can recommend to others for it’s cushiness and colors.

One thought on “The softest yarn for baby blankets

Leave a Reply

